ejes consulting

Techincal Consulting Design and Automation

Tutorial: Free Air Miles

with one comment

Like many, I collect air miles.  It takes me months, sometimes years to aqurie enough air miles to buy a pack of gum – but I collect them anyway.

A short time ago, Air Miles teamed up with Yahoo! search and they produced something called the “AIR MILES (R) TOOLBAR” (https://www.airmiles.ca/arrow/Toolbar)

This toolbar gave you the ability to add up to 30 air miles per month based on how many searches you do.

I tried it.  It’s slow and buggy, it crashes constantly, and I hate using Windows.  This made me hate this application, but the hacker in me decided to see if I could exploit this toolbar for my own purposes.

The first thing I noticed is that you can search just by typing in the “address bar” in Internet Explorer (my least favorite browser)

Knowing that VBS (Visual Basic Scripting Edition) can be used to enter text directly into the address bar, I decded to see if it could initiate a search on my behalf.

LOL, it CAN!!!

So, The only thing left, a dictionary of search terms.

Here is a link to my script: https://ejesconsulting.wordpress.com/scripts/airmiles.vbs/

Enjoy!

Remember this is released for educational purposes only, to use it would break your agreement with Air Miles, and therefore put you at risk for legal action.

This script is offered in an incomplete format so that in order to use it you must purposesly try to break your licence agreement with Air Miles.

Written by ejes

June 8, 2009 at 2:18 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what advantages does this script have over a locomotive which I can also afford?

    tes

    June 8, 2009 at 2:23 pm


Leave a Reply

