ejes consulting

Techincal Consulting Design and Automation

Restrict a 14 year old from the internet

leave a comment »

So I’ve taken a bit of time off – to spend with my son who came to stay with me from the far away place called Orillia. 

I’m quite liberal with our computing environment – so he gets his own computer and to be “self regulated” over the Internet.  He knows well enough that I have quite a complex network and know all the traffic that travels through our up link to the Internet.

Giving your 14 year old unrestricted internet access has it’s ups and downs.  One major down was that he managed to eat my entire Rogers High Speed Internet quota in a matter of 4 days.

That’s right 4 days.

So to limit him, I entered his MAC address in my deny list and he isn’t able to attach to the internet.  Easy right?  No.

I also have a Wii, which has an Internet connection, and frequently will download updates for itself.  My son also loves to play the Wii.

I don’t know exactly where he got the idea, but Suddenly I noticed that my Wii was unplugged, and instead the “Wii” was browsing the Internet, Gigabytes at a time on World of Warcraft, Runescape, uTorrent, and Youtube.   A browsing pattern I knew FAR too well.

He went into the Wii’s menu, looked up it’s MAC address, unplugged  the Wii, then changed his own MAC address to the Wii’s easily circumventing my restrictions.

Like father like son, I suppose.  Now I have to physically log into my OpenBSD server from wherever I am and forcibly unload it’s networking modules with a cron job to reload them when he would be allowed to regain access to the internet.

Written by ejes

August 18, 2009 at 1:49 pm

Posted in Commentary

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

