ejes consulting

Techincal Consulting Design and Automation

Revisit Royale Noir

leave a comment »

I know I’ve failed to post for the last little while.  But with good reason, my FreeNAS server crashed (destroying the drive) which I intend to post about once I’ve fixed it, I have also been writing a few pieces of software for my clients, and 1 for the open source community (again, I will post this once I have something more “polished” for general consumption)

But, since i’ve been looking at the same page of posts for the last couple of weeks i thought i owe it to you to write something… anything, just to keep you (and me) on our toes.

Since this is something of a revisit but I think it’s quite catching and really a nice personal touch that many of us can use to make our windows boxes just a little more unique.

It’s called “Royale Noir”, a secret hidden XP theme that is only available using a special “luna.msstyles” visual settings file by Microsoft.

Installation is a snap, you just download the royale_noir.zip file that I literally stole from the old “istartedsomething” post (see: http://www.istartedsomething.com/uploads/royale_noir.zip) unzip it into a “royale noir” subdirectory in your “%WINDIR%\resources\themes\” folder, double click on the “luna.msstyles” file and select “Noir” from the colour scheme.

Beautiful.

 Royal Noir Display Properties

Royal Noir Display Properties

If you want to see the original post: http://www.istartedsomething.com/20061029/royale-noir/

Written by ejes

September 29, 2009 at 2:18 pm

Leave a comment